MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE REGION F WATER PLANNING GROUP 10:30 A.M. MONDAY, APRIL 23, 2007 AT SOUTHWEST COLLEGIATE INSTITUTE FOR THE DEAF 3200 AVENUE C – BIG SPRING, TEXAS

The Region F Water Planning Group (WPG) met at 10:30 a.m. on Monday, April 23, 2007 at Southwest Collegiate Institute for the Deaf, Big Spring, Texas. Voting members present were: Len Wilson, Wendell Moody, Stuart Coleman, John Grant, Scott Holland, Richard Gist, Robert Moore, David Sanders, Dennis Clark, Will Wilde, Tim Warren, Kenneth Dierschke, Stephen Brown, Jared Miller, Woody Anderson and Ben Shepperd was present as a designated alternate for voting member Buddy Sipes. Voting members Terry Scott, Larry Turnbough, Steve Hofer, Caroline Runge, Buddy Sipes and Jerry Bearden were absent. Non-voting members present were Billy Hopper, Don Daniel, Sue Young, Paul Weatherby and Joe David Ross, Other non-voting members and interested parties present were: Kevin Kluge, Texas Water Development Board (TWDB); Jon Albright and Simone Kiel, Freese & Nichols (FNI); Reuben Cantu, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department; John Ashworth, LBG-Guyton; Dennis; Allen Lange, Lipan-Kickapoo Water Conservation District; R. Nan Owen, Upton County Water District; Brent Wrinkle, Upton County, Greta Ramsdell, Sutton County Underground Water District; Chris Wingert, Okla Thornton and Michelle Rhodes (recorder of the minutes) from Colorado River Municipal Water District.

Call to Order

Chairman John Grant called the meeting to order at 10:40 a.m. A quorum was present.

Introductions and Opening Remarks

Voting and non-voting members and audience attendees introduced themselves.

Consider Approval of Minutes for the Region F WPG Meeting February 26, 2006

Motion was made by Richard Gist, seconded by Stuart Coleman that the minutes of the February 26, 2006 Region F WPG meeting be accepted. The motion passed unanimously.

Consider Ratification of Payments/Financial Report

Mr. Grant presented the list of payments and financial report. Kenneth Dierschke made a motion, seconded by Woody Anderson, that the group approve the financial report and ratify the payments as noted in the printed report. The motion passed unanimously.

Consider Designated Alternates for Voting Membership

Mr. Grant explained that the designated alternates must represent the same interest group as the person they are substituting for. Tim Warren nominated David Petty as his designated alternate. Mr. Petty works for TXU. Len Wilson moved and Jerry Bearden

seconded that Mr. Petty be accepted as Mr. Warren's alternate. Motion passed unanimously.

Buddy Sipes nominated Ben Sheppard as his designated alternate. Mr. Sheppard is with the Permian Basin Petroleum Association. Scott Holland made a motion and Kenneth Dierschke seconded that Mr. Sheppard be accepted as Mr. Sipes alternate. Motion passed unanimously.

Stephen Brown nominated Chuck Brown as his designated alternate. Chuck Brown works for UCRA. Richard Gist moved and Dennis Clark seconded that Chuck Brown be accepted as Stephen Brown's alternate. Motion passed unanimously.

Scott Holland nominated Allan Lange as his designated alternate. Mr. Lange is the General Manager for the Lipan-Kickapoo Water Conservation District. Stephen Brown moved Wendell Moody seconded that Mr. Lange be accepted as Scott Holland's alternate. Motion passed unanimously.

Jerry Bearden nominated Ralph Sides as his designated alternate. Mr. Sides is the county judge in Sterling County. Wendell Moody moved and Stephen Brown seconded that Mr. Sides be accepted as Jerry Bearden's alternate. Motion passed unanimously.

Woody Anderson nominated Lynn Halfmann as his designated alternate. Mr. Halfmann is an irrigated farmer in Upton, Glasscock and Reeves counties. Stephen Brown moved and Kenneth Dierschke seconded that Mr. Halfmann be accepted as Mr. Anderson's alternate. Motion passed unanimously.

Will Wilde nominated Tom Kerr as his designated alternate. Mr. Kerr works for the City of San Angelo. Stephen Brown moved and Stuart Coleman seconded that Mr. Kerr be accepted as Mr. Wilde's alternate. Motion passed unanimously.

Consider Non-voting Members

Mr. Grant reminded the group that they had discussed adding Lynn Halfmann, John Evridge and Michael McCulloch as non-voting members of the group at the last meeting. Stephen Brown moved and Kenneth Dierschke seconded that Lynn Halfmann, John Evridge and Michael McCulloch be accepted as non-voting members. Motion passed unanimously.

Paul Weatherby was nominated as a non-voting member by Judge Joe Shuster of Pecos County. Len Wilson moved and Will Wilde seconded that Mr. Weatherby be accepted as a non-voting member. Motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Grant nominated Debbie McReynolds with the City of Odessa because he felt that she could contribute to the planning process and Odessa has a regional water testing lab that could test for smaller communities. Jared Miller moved and David Sanders seconded that Ms. McReynolds be accepted as a non-voting member. Motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Grant nominated Kay Snyder with the City of Midland. Midland conjunctively uses surface and groundwater and are faced with quality issues in their Paul Davis well field.

They are currently updating their water treatment plant to handle these quality issues and treat them. Len Wilson moved and Tim Warren seconded that Ms. Snyder be accepted as a non-voting member. Motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Grant nominated Todd Darden of the City of Big Spring. Big Spring is currently working with CRMWD on the Reclamation project. Jared Miller moved and Len Wilson seconded that Mr. Darden be accepted as a non-voting member. Motion passed unanimously.

TWDB Report

Kevin Kluge informed the group that the TWDB is currently drafting a new contract for a two year period and making minor adjustments to the scope that was submitted last September. TWDB should be sending a draft contract to CRMWD and the Region F consultants later in the week.

Consultants

Consultants are currently awaiting a contract from TWDB but are going forward with the kickoff meetings of the work groups.

Work Groups

There are three designated work groups: Rural Systems, Groundwater Study and Irrigation. Rural Systems and Groundwater Study work groups will kick off after the adjournment of this meeting. Irrigation will probably not meet for six months. Wendell Moody was asked to Chair Rural Systems and Richard Gist will serve as Vice Chair. Buddy Sipes was asked to Chair Groundwater Study and Len Wilson will serve as Vice Chair. Allan Lange was asked to Chair Irrigation and Rick Harston will serve as Vice Chair.

Presentation – Upper Colorado Salt Cedar Control Project

Okla Thornton of CRMWD provided the group with an update on the Upper Colorado Salt Cedar Control Project.

Presentation – CRMWD Big Spring Water Reclamation Project

Chris Wingert of CRMWD provided the group with an update on the Big Spring Water Reclamation Project.

Other Discussion

There was no other discussion.

Next Meeting Date

The next meeting was scheduled for September 24, 2007.

<u>Adjourn</u>

There was no further discussion and the meeting adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

Will Wilde, Secretary Region F Water Planning Group John Grant, Chair Region F Water Planning Group